img_6466

For the first time in a long time, I didn’t dread packing. I’m not sure if it’s due to the fact that I’m looking forward to being in a new place again, or the fact that it’s that time to travel again. For the next couple of days, my family and I are heading to a place with lots of beaches, temples, and elephants. Guessed it yet? 🙂 Since it’s only going to be a short trip, I’m packing as lightly and as smart as possible, especially since I don’t intend to check my luggage in.

When I pack for a trip, I usually start out messy. I make a pile for all the clothes that I want to use for the trip and when (I think) I’m done, I go through the pile and start eliminating and matching. [TIP:] If you really want to check, plan, and organize each outfit for every day, this messy and time consuming strategy works!

The next thing I do is fix my toiletries and the best way that works for me is compartmentalizing. I do this by using purses and knapsacks, and I also make use of Ziplocs. [TIP:] Compartmentalizing is a fantastic way to keep your luggage organized.

When traveling, I try to minimize the number of products I bring with me. I only pack those that I know I will actually use on a daily basis to save space. [TIP:] If you do not intend to check your luggage in, make sure that your liquids are 100ml or less and then store them in a Ziploc.

For this trip, I’m only bringing two pairs of shoes. (1) A pair of sandals (to be packed) and (2) running shoes, which I will be wearing for the flight going there and going back home.  [TIP:] If you do not have one of those bags for your shoes, you can make use of shower caps so you can easily place your shoes in your luggage without worrying about getting the rest of the contents dirty.

Bringing a backpack or a convenient handbag is always a good idea when traveling, especially since it allows you to have access to your things during the flight. When I travel, I usually just bring one backpack that I can use everyday, I mean imagine the hassle if you had to switch bags everyday!

Last minute TIPS:

  • Wear your heaviest clothes and shoes during your flight to minimize your luggage’s weight.
  • Rolling your clothes is a great way to maximize the space in your luggage.
  • If your camera is heavy an
  • Bringing a Sharpie and a pen is always a good idea.
  • Always pack band-aids! You’ll never know when you’re gonna need ’em. Learned this painfully when I was in Da Nang.

If you have ideas/comments on how to pack even more lightly, send me a quick comment 🙂

